Keep the faith.

“When you have come to the edge

of all light that you know

and are about to fall

into the darkness of the unknown,

faith is knowing one of two thing will happen:

there will be something solid for you to stand on, or

you will be taught to fly.”

(Unknown Author)

really love this. For me, it’s the best definition of faith I’ve ever read. Faith is believing when there’s no proof. Faith is believing in spite of the lack of reasons to. It’s believing when things tell you otherwise. More than believing, it’s knowing.

Gravity is a proven fact. Beliefs are not. So, this always gets me mesmerized at how someone can have the firm belief to the point it’s a knowledge that, beyond that line where light fades completely and its pitch black, there will be ground to tread upon and not a deep abyss into which you’ll fall. Or, even less likely, that in case there isn’t, instead of falling, you will fly.

It’s not necessarily believing in God. It’s simply believing. Believing things will be alright. It’s believing in yourself. It’s believing in an idea. It’s believing in an ideal. Believing in someone.

Once I read something on the internet that was supposedly found scratched on the wall of a place where jews hid during the Second World War, and it was more or less like this:

“I believe in the sun, even though it doesn’t shine;

I believe in love, even though I cannot feel it;

I believe in God, even though He doesn’t manifest Himself.”

It made me wonder how people can go through something like the Holocaust and still have faith. I’m the kind of person that gets teary eyed just by remembering a movie about it and I really felt sick watching The Pianist. I mean, when you or someone you love has been in a car accident, when someone is in the hospital, when you’ve been taken hostage, when someone has gone missing, when you can’t seem to find a job and the bills are piling up… can you take a deep breath and rest assured that, somehow, one way or the other, things will turn out for the best?

You can’t.

But we walk into the dark, anyway. We close our eyes and hope.

~ by 1cellinthesea on April 6, 2012.

3 Responses to “Keep the faith.”

  1. I can’t agree that faith is the way you portrayed it. Faith is not blind trust. Faith is not a thing of itself. Faith is placed in a thing. When I first began to throw my sons in the air, they were terrified. As they began to understand who I was, how reliable my catches are and that I care enough not to drop them, they developed faith *in* me. Faith is something learned and placed in a person who proves to be faithful.

    • Hi! Thank you for your input, I *really* appreciate it. When I started this blog, I told myself I was going to welcome comments, but not reply to them, because this is a space for me to vent, and whine and say everything that gets stuck in my mind and inside of me for so long. But I just had to say something because your analogy was perfect, and beautiful and this is an important post to me.
      I’m going to ponder on what you said.
      But thank you again for taking the time to write this review!

  2. Anytime, thanks for the kind words.

Leave a Reply

 
